Ruby Flores Yuson's Blog

A Purpose Driven Blog site

Excuse Me, Please Mind Your Grammars!

on April 17, 2013

Most of a virtual assistant’s work is dependent on written communication. And communication is usually in English since it is considered as the universal language. Hence, most articles are written in English.

.kidsgram.

Communicating in English is quite a big job for non-native English writers. With a language as complex as English, anyone can commit mistakes or grammar lapses. And mind you, even native English speakers or writers have grammar mistakes. It means that everyone if not all, needs to write carefully and watch how words are formed into a sentence.

How well do you know your grammar? The following are grammatically wrong sentences. Rewrite the sentences to make it grammatically correct. I tried. I had fun. Why don’t you try and have fun, too? Then let’s compare answers.

1. If I was you, I would all vote Fred.
2. I’m sorry you have made a mistake!
3. He’s been eating chicken 4 times this week.
4. Learning Russian is as difficult than learning German.
5. I wonder what did she do this past weekend.
6. At this point in time we can’t ascertain the reason as to why the screen door was left open.
7. You needn’t arrive before 9 next Friday.
8. He took care of pay the bills last weekend.
9. My sister, who is employed as a nutritionist at the University of Michigan, recommends the daily intake of megadoses of Vitamin C.
10. Unless he studies, he won’t pass the exam!
11. Why are your hands dirty? – Oh, I’ve been working in the garden.
12. They let their children stay up late on Saturday evenings.
13. He had already eaten by the time I arrived.
14. She needs three new pieces of office equipments.
15. Dr. Roberts are mentioned that 60% of unemployed respondents fear of losing they’re homes.

Below are my attempts to rewrite the above sentences.
1. If I were you, I would vote for Fred.
2. I am sorry. You have made a mistake.
3. He has eaten chicken 4 times this week.
4. Learning Russian is as difficult as learning German.
5. I wonder what she did this past weekend.
6. At this point in time, we can’t ascertain the reason why the screen door was left open.
7. You don’t need to arrive before 9 next Friday.
8. He took care of paying the bills last weekend.
9. My sister, a nutritionist at the University of Michigan, recommends the daily intake of Vitamin C.
10. Unless he studies, he will not pass the exam.
11. Why are your hands dirty? Oh, I am working in the garden.
12. They let their children stay up late on Saturdays.
13. He had eaten already by the time I arrive.
14. She needs three new pieces of office equipment.
15. Dr. Roberts mentioned that 60% of unemployed respondents fear of losing their homes.

How did you fare? Grammar mistakes are opportunities to make better. Just write, then edit and you will come a long way. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

